Johnny Football makes Heisman history; Texas A&M QB Manziel is first freshman to win trophy

  • Article by: RALPH D. RUSSO , Associated Press
  • Updated: December 9, 2012 - 6:44 AM

NEW YORK - He's Johnny Best in Football now — and a freshman, at that.

  • 8
  • Comments

  • Results per page:
  • 1 - 8 of 8
gopherz24Dec. 8, 12 9:38 PM

Should have been Optimus Klein! We are K-STATE!

joepikeDec. 8, 12 9:47 PM

Any time anyone or anything from Noter Damn misses out on anything I am remotely assured that there must, indeed, be a god of some sorts.

wisstinks4Dec. 8, 1210:07 PM

Writers missed it by giving this trophy to a rookie. The LB from Hawaii was a better choice. No Freshman should ever win this thing. A huge miss folks.

sternitzkyDec. 8, 1210:36 PM

Congratulations Manziel, hope your next three years are as exciting!

tbdbitl7881Dec. 9, 12 7:52 AM

Yet another example that the Heisman has become a purely "hype" award. There are several players out there who labored in relative obscurity, all because the football press chose not to look at their accomplishments and their value to a team. One coming to my mind is Jordan Lynch from Northern Illinois. However, since Lynch "only" plays in the MAC, he can't be any good; at least that is what the press thinks.

Coot8Dec. 9, 12 8:47 AM

No Freshman should ever win the Heisman...Period.

julio57Dec. 9, 12 2:03 PM

To say that a freshman should never win this award is ridiculous and assinine. The award goes to the player voted most outstanding in college football. That is it. To ignore a player because if his age would be an injustice to the award itself. There are reasonable debates to be had about who the best player is, but age should NEVER be a factor.

wisstinks4Dec. 10, 1212:18 AM

That's why it's an open blog to supports our first amendment free religion and speech. Which leads us to the main point: no freshman should ever win this piece of hardware. The Norte dame LB had a better season. He was the best player in the country.

  • 1 - 8 of 8

Comment on this story   |  


Atlanta - LP: A. Wood 0 FINAL
Philadelphia - WP: A. Bastardo 1
Cleveland - LP: D. Salazar 5 FINAL
Detroit - WP: J. Verlander 7
Toronto - LP: R. Dickey 0 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: K. Gibson 7
Seattle - LP: J. Beimel 6 FINAL
Texas - WP: P. Figueroa 8
Los Angeles - WP: H. Ryu 2 FINAL
San Francisco - LP: M. Bumgarner 1
Colorado - WP: F. Morales 3 FINAL
San Diego - LP: I. Kennedy 1
St. Louis - WP: A. Wainwright 8 FINAL
Washington - LP: T. Jordan 0
Milwaukee - LP: R. Wooten 2 FINAL
Pittsburgh - WP: E. Volquez 11
NY Yankees - WP: C. Sabathia 10 FINAL
Tampa Bay - LP: D. Price 2
Toronto - LP: S. Santos 5 FINAL
Minnesota - WP: C. Fien 9
Boston - WP: J. Lester 3 FINAL
Chicago WSox - LP: R. Belisario 1
Kansas City - WP: J. Shields 5 FINAL
Houston - LP: S. Feldman 1
Philadelphia 1 FINAL
NY Rangers 4
Chicago 3 FINAL(OT)
St. Louis 4
Minnesota 4 FINAL(OT)
Colorado 5
Los Angeles 3 FINAL
San Jose 6





question of the day

Poll: Who will win the Wild-Colorado playoff series?

Weekly Question


Connect with twitterConnect with facebookConnect with Google+Connect with PinterestConnect with PinterestConnect with RssfeedConnect with email newsletters